What is ITSM certification?

IT Service Management (ITSM) certifications are credentials aimed at IT professionals looking to elevate their skills in handling IT systems and services processing.

Getting one or more certification can be worthwhile since it ultimately shows that you have an advanced level of knowledge in ITSM principles, strategies, and processes. Here, we'll be exploring the many advantages of attaining an ITSM and explore various certification options.

What is an IT Service Management certification?

An ITSM certification is official proof of expertise in IT service management. It serves as evidence of an individual's technical abilities to potential employers and peers.

It covers a wide variety of skills and expertise in frameworks and methodologies that improve the delivery of IT services. That's especially the case as it relates to streamlining technical processes and enhancing efficiency in a business setting.

ITSM certifications are usually accompanied by rigorous training material and courses beforehand. But keep in mind that passing an exam is also mandatory for certification.

Some of the benefits of becoming ITSM certified

Combined with relevant job experience, earning an ITSM certification is a great way to stay up-to-date with the latest skills, strategies, and best practices to effectively manage IT operations.

The knowledge gained from getting your certificate can help boost your career prospects—you may even be able to move up at your current company or pursue new opportunities elsewhere.

Other benefits of following an ITSM certification path include:

  • Continuous learning
  • Improved processes outcomes
  • Enhanced earning potential
  • Enhanced credibility among peers and employers
  • Improved organizational efficiency

Four ITSM certification options

Depending on where you currently are in your career path, you can choose between many ITSM certification options.

ITSM certifications come in several levels. The first is the Foundation Level for entry-level staff. Second, a Managing Professional Level for team and department and service managers, and the Strategic Leader Level for senior managers. Third is the Master Level, which is the highest.

Each level has its own set of criteria for successful completion and specific goals and objectives:

ITIL Foundation

The IT Information Library (ITIL) Foundation certification is an entry-level certification. It's for those looking to learn about basic service management concepts.

The certification will validate several skills including incident management, change management, asset lifecycle management, incident reporting systems, and quality assurance processes.

Obtaining this certificate would prove that you're able to handle daily incidents in your IT department.

ITIL Managing Professional

The ITIL Managing Professional (MP) is an intermediate to advanced-level certification. It targets professionals with a few years of hands-on experience—particularly ones looking to improve beyond what is covered in the ITIL Foundation Certificate.

This programs covers skills such as root cause analysis techniques and incident handling best practices, both of which enables the IT professional to better support their organization's IT management.

The MP certification program also includes a number of practical skills. An MP-certified individual must know how to develop problem-resolution plans. Also, they must experience designing incident management workflows that meet business goals.

ITIL Strategic Leader

The ITIL Strategic Leader (SL) is an advanced-level certification program. It's intended for senior IT professionals who need advanced technical and leadership skills. It targets their role in enterprise architecture planning and the implementation of strategies across multiple domains.

The certification validates a number of skills, including operations management, process improvement initiatives, and customer service delivery methods, all in the context of a well-rounded business strategy.

Focusing on developing an IT skillset from a leadership position, the SL certificate focuses on many high-level topics. This includes the development of effective communication plans between service stakeholders and the creation of governance models. Obtaining the SL certification showcases that an individual is able to take industry regulations and standards into account when making decisions for company teams.

ITIL Master

The ITIL Master certification is the highest available of the ITSM certification levels. It's aimed at individuals looking to prove their mastery over a myriad of high-level skills. They are well-versed in all the areas mentioned earlier. Additionally, they can provide evidence-based guidance on how they plan to address current challenges faced by the organization.

At an ITIL Master level, you should be able to work towards set business goals. This is particularly challenging when faced with continuous changes that occur due to market forces and fluctuations out of your control.

To get this certification, you'd need to learn and understand foundational ITIL concepts as well as go deep into understanding its advanced techniques.

ITSM vs. ITIL: what’s the difference?

ITSM and ITIL are two terms often used interchangeably in IT. However, they're not the same thing. While ITIL is a specific ITSM framework, ITSM refers to a set of practices and principles for managing IT services.

ITSM is a strategic approach to managing IT services that focuses on delivering value to the organization. This is done by aligning IT services with business objectives, managing the IT infrastructure, and continuously improving IT processes. It also encompasses a wide range of frameworks, including ITIL, COBIT, ISO/IEC 20000, and others.

On the other hand, ITIL is a widely recognized ITSM framework that provides a set of best practices for managing IT services. It consists of five core pillars that cover the entire lifecycle of an IT service, starting from service strategy and service design to transition, operation, and continual service improvement.

ITIL provides a structured and comprehensive approach to managing IT services. This is why many organizations around the world rely on it.

Picture of Luis Gonzalez
Luis Gonzalez
Content Marketing Manager

Operational excellence starts here